Is It Worth It: Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

Long time, no see! I am sorry it has taken me so long to post again, but you know how it goes; life happens. I have been overwhelmed with responsibilities and a little underwhelmed with makeup lately. I bought some new products this week though so I am feeling inspired at last and figured now was as good a time as any to get back to the blog. So let’s get into what you came here for!

If you watch YouTube beauty videos, chances are you have seen people talk (& rave) about the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation. And if you have dry skin, I bet you have been curious to try it. So, as always, I wanted to throw in my “typical” girl prospective on this ridiculously priced product.

First things first, let’s talk price. You can buy this foundation in two sizes. Side note, I think that is a really nice option so you don’t have to buy a full bottle in case you don’t like it and the smaller bottle is nice for travel. Anyways, the lager bottle is the size of a typical foundation. You get 1oz of product and it is going to set you back $64 (are you cringing yet?).  The smaller option contains 0.6oz and costs, wait for it, $42. I can’t get past it. FORTY-TWO dollars!!

Storytime: I bought the small one not realizing just how small it is. To be honest, I didn’t even look at the amount of product. I saw that the price was $42, thought to myself “Hey, that’s about the same as my beloved Too Faced Born This Way, let’s give is a shot”. I nearly lost it when I received it in the mail a couple days later. Honestly, I just had to laugh at myself and consider it a lesson learned. Trust me, you will understand when you see the picture.

Next up, packaging. If you buy the full size of this foundation, it comes in a beautiful frosted glass bottle. It includes a pump which is always a good thing and gives you the overall feel of luxury. If you opt for the smaller size, it comes in a glass bottle (not frosted) and has a pump. With that being said, the smaller packaging does not feel “luxurious” to me. It is just kind of typical. Also, the smaller size doesn’t have a lid that covers the entire top like most foundations do. It has a small cap that slides over the part where the foundation actually comes out. That cap isn’t very secure either. So as far as packaging goes, I like it for the full size and I am disappointed with the small size.

galsf

It is seriously so tiny! Can you see what I mean with the lid? This is with it on, so hopefully you can tell it is not very substantial. 

Okay, on to what is really important; the foundation itself. My skin fluctuates between being very dry to normal, so I typically go for foundations that claim to be moisturizing or luminous or an variation of that term. This foundation definitely delivers in that respect. It is very wet looking. Now I like that to an extent,  but I feel like this one never dries down. I feel like two hours later I could just take my hand and move the foundation around on my face. For that reason, I would 100% recommend setting it with a powder. I also feel like it can be a little streaky. I use a beauty blender to apply it and I feel like I have to be fairly careful with my application. Also, after I set it with powder, 9 times out of 10 I have to go back with my beauty blender (no additional product) and smooth things out again. As far as coverage goes I would say it is a solid medium. I think you can build it up if you want or sheer it out, so I like that flexibility.

Overall:

Pros: The small bottle is good for travel. There is a large color range. It is hydrating.

Cons: Price. It’s not the easiest to apply. Price. I have to set it. Price.

Million dollar question: Is it worth it? No. Is it the worst foundation I have ever used? No. Is it the best? Definitely not. And for $42 for 0.6 ounces, I think this stuff should be mind blowing. Think about it, I have to work at it to get it to apply smoothly and then I HAVE to use a powder on top (which is a big deal to me since I have dry skin) and then I am still not blown away. No thank you. I can find much better for $40 or a lot less at the drugstore.

I hope you all found this useful! Thanks so much for stopping by! As always, I would love your feedback so feel free to comment or email me! Talk to you soon!

~Lakin

Leave a Reply

